Wayne Brittle – Landscape Photography – Thursday November 10th

Wayne Brittle will be delivering a talk on landscape photography. A brief look at his website will show you the quality of his images, and this should prove to be an interesting night.

About Wayne from his website. http://www.waynebrittlephotography.com/services.html

‘I live close to the Staffordshire, Derbyshire border and have over 35 years experience behind the Lens.

My passion for Landscape Photography comes from my love of the great outdoors. I often rise before the sun and will travel miles to capture the sheer beauty of the British Landscape.

I am also a competent user of Photoshop in which I have run workshops for budding photographers. More recently though, I have been in demand for my Landscape Slideshows & Talk entitled ‘Another Time – Another Place’ to Photographic Clubs and interested groups around the UK

I considers it really important to get it right at the picture-taking stage, and not to rely on digital editing too heavily. I enjoy working on a PC using Photoshop, but this comes second to just being out there in some remote location, camera and tripod hoping to recreate that feeling you get when you capture something special.

I have been fortunate to have many images published, as well as written articles for some of the UK’s top photographic magazines including: DIGITAL SLR USER, PHOTOGRAPHY MONTHLY, PRACTICAL PHOTOGRAPHY, DIGITAL PHOTO, AMATEUR PHOTOGRAPHER, WHAT DIGITAL CAMERA, PHOTO PLUS, F.P.M.E (Freelance Photography Made Easy), DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY TECHNIQUES, COUNTRY LIFE, DERBYSHIRE LIFE, STAFFORDSHIRE LIFE & THE DERBYSHIRE MAGAZINE.

Also my work has appeared in highly regarded books, such as – DEVELOPING VISION & STYLE – (A Landscape Photographers Masterclass).

And at the end of 2010 I was delightedto be commended in the LANDSCAPE PHOTOGRAPHER OF THE YEAR awards. My image: ‘Dawn over Hadrians Wall’ appeared in the Book of the same name, as well as being shown at the NATIONAL GALLERY in London.’

Colin Prior – Buxton – Wednesday November 16

As part of the BUXTON ADVENTURE FESTIVAL , Colin Prior will be presenting.

Colin Prior is one of the world’s great landscape photographers, capturing vast sweeping panoramas from around the globe. In 2015, he was the subject of the BBC One documentary Mountain Man, which covered a four-year project to document Pakistan’s Karakoram Mountains. He has travelled more than a million miles in 40 different countries to capture some of the world’s most dramatic landscapes as part of a British Airways commission.

Prior pioneered the use of panoramic photography for clients in the travel, lifestyle and leisure sectors in the 90s and has since published seven photographic books, frequently focussing on the Scottish Highlands.

Full details will be found on  http://buxtonoperahouse.org.uk/colin-prior#-info

Tickets are £17.50. If you are interested in attending , Paul Cooper will probably be going, and there is room in the car for 5. Let him know if you are interested


Selection Evening – Thursday November 3rd

On this evening you the members will be selecting both digital and print images for our forthcoming competition with Nottingham Outlaws Photographic Society. PDI Images need to be submitted to Simon Pearce, Competition Secretary by the end of day Sunday 30th October along with your print titles. Prints can be bought along on the evening, but there titles should have been submitted on the Sunday.

The new marking system, agreed at the last AGM will be used to select the competition set. The rules relating to images have been updated on the site for your reference http://melbournephotographicsociety.org.uk/membership/competition-guidelines

For entries and further details please contact Simon 


Members visit to Bradgate Park – Saturday 22nd October

An early morning start to capture the deer, hopefully rutting in this natural looking environment. There are also a number of landscape locations within the park. This will be an early Saturday morning start.

Stag at Bradgate by Steve Fairbrother

Further details from the trip leader, Ian Petitt 

For details of  the park, go to http://www.bradgatepark.org/#

For a superb guide on deer photography at Bradgate Park, go to http://fairbrother.me.uk/brad-gate-park/ . This is written by Steve Fairbrother, my predecessor as the MPS webmaster here and a resident of Melbourne.